Body Failure

9 Oct

Just over a week ago I started feeling some discomfort in my jaw, I couldn’t open my mouth very wide and it felt like my teeth were unaligned. The following day I was off balance, dizzy, feeling sick and had a head ache like never before. I ended up at a walk in GP service. After waiting for two hours (which included a nap) I was seen by a GP who after an examination told me I had a throat (hadn’t I seen the spots on my throat?) And ear infection. I was told to rest and given  10 days worth of antibiotics. That ruled out my last long run on the Sunday. I was drained in pain and exhausted.

A few days later I was feeling more human but started sneezing. By Thursday (yesterday) it had transformed into a full blown cough and cold. So bad that I thought I was going to suffocate on Thursday night as I was so congested.

I’ve just left work earlyand with less than 48hours to go before Royal Parks Half Marathon I’m not quite sure if I’ll be well enough to run on Sunday.

I need to get in maximum rest and recuperation but I just don’t think I’ll be fit enough.

I’m so angry at my body for failing mw this way. I was speaking to my friend and cheerleader, Sarah, and told her how angry I was and she remarked that it sounds like my body is also angry at me.

I think she is right, I’m doing so much at the moment; wedding planning, trying to keep house, leaving one job is the midst of a stressful office move whilst getting ready to start another and trying to train to be as fit as possible.  I think my body and mind have just decided I need a break.

I’m writing this feeling pretty tearful on the underground. I’m trying to stay hopeful for Sunday, I’ve raised a nice chunk of money for Starlight so let’s see how it goes. If I can’t run, I’ve found another half marathon a week later which I’ll do instead. 

Keep your fingers crossed for me.

Xx

4 Responses to “Body Failure”

  1. jennifercorcoran October 9, 2015 at 5:41 pm #

    I’m sorry to hear that Leeanne – sometimes our bodies just give up and we need to listen to them. I know it’s hard when you have a schedule/goal you are working towards.

    I’ve just returned to work after 2 months off with a herniated disc. It’s early days but I’m getting back on track. It happened two years ago and will probably happen again but going forward I’m going to be more ‘good to myself’ and not try to pack in as much as I did before.

    Wishing you a speedy recovery! Your health is your wealth – don’t worry about anything else but getting better! The rest can wait.

  2. ctrbeth October 9, 2015 at 8:07 pm #

    Hope you feel better!

  3. Run Wright October 12, 2015 at 6:47 pm #

    It would be a bummer if you can’t run but I think the most important is that you listen to your body – when it rebels, it’s time to pay attention and give it what it’s asking for. Rest is often at the top of the list

    • specialee85 October 16, 2015 at 8:01 pm #

      I wasn’t able to run in the end I know it was the right thing to do. I’m still very chesty but I’m I’m hoping by this Sunday I can start running again. Thanks for the comment, all so very true. 🙂

Go on, write something :-)